Foodie by April

Local restaurant reviews by an food explorer & enthusiast!

Azulejos Mexican Restaurant, Smithtown, NY

Leave a comment

Went out for our anniversary a few days ago and it had been a while since I went to Azulejos with my “other half”. This little gem is located very inconspicuously on Middle Country Road in Smithtown. It’s east of the Main Street area of town, and close to all the dealerships in the area, but west of the Smith Haven Mall. It’s not a hopping or happening location, but it seems that Azulejos is building up a steady following.  Every time I pass them by on the weekend lately, the parking lot is filled.

Check out their site here:  http://www.azulejoscuisine.org/

It was a Tuesday night and they weren’t busy, but there was a small number of people there. We arrived at 6:30, and had our choice of tables. I chose one by the window, as it’s still light out now since it’s spring time.  By the time we left, probably about an hour later, a few more people showed up.  The atmosphere is warm and welcoming. My guess is that this place is a family-run operation, but they really love what they do. Service is friendly and attentive without being too obtrusive.

When I saw the Lobster Empanadas on their specials menu I knew that they would be amazing and they were.  They were cooked perfectly and the reason why you only see one in the picture above is because my boyfriend had to take his immediately. It’s part of their tapas (or small plates) menu.  We shared an order of two and I could have easily had two more (of course between the two of us) as my main entree. They were THAT good.  It was one of the best things I’ve ever eaten – seriously. 

For my main entree I had the Chiles Poblanos, which was a vegetarian version stuffed with mushrooms, onions and some chipotle aioli. Simply beautiful in presentation, but also the flavors were spot on!  How can I describe it – it wasn’t too spicy (I don’t have a very high heat threshold), but it was spicy enough. You’ll just have to go there for yourself and try it.

My boyfriend had the Shrimp with Green Sauce. It was very good, but he would get the Shrimp Fajitas next time.

Go check out this place soon …happy spring 🙂

Author: April

I love trying out different cuisines, and taking pictures of food just comes natural to me. Look for my reviews of local restaurants- you'll find an honest opinion about the food, service and ambience.

Leave a Reply

