Foodie by April

Local restaurant reviews by an food explorer & enthusiast!

Javier’s Café, Smithtown, NY

Leave a comment

There’s a new breakfast/lunch place in town and it competes with one of the other heavy hitters for breakfast and lunch (Maureen’s Kitchen) – it’s called Javier’s Cafe on Main Street in Smithtown.  They don’t have a website yet, as they just opened their doors about a month ago (in mid-June)…but here’s some info I found when I googled them:  http://long-island.newsday.com/restaurants/feed-me-1.812004/javier-s-cafe-new-for-breakfast-and-lunch-in-smithtown-1.5573344 (Newsday’s brief announcement about their opening).  Or, here’s more detailed info from the Smithtown Patch:  http://smithtown.patch.com/groups/business-news/p/javiers-cafe-opens-doors-awakens-a-dream.

It’s hard to write this and not compare Javier’s to Maureen’s Kitchen, since the chef and owner, Javier, worked as the chef for Maureen’s for 16 years.  If you’ve been to Maureen’s before, and came to Javier’s then you’d definitely have the feeling that this was a smaller version of Maureen’s – every bit as tasty and the service was great!  We went there at the end of June, and since we were only two people, we got seated right away.  The steady stream of customers kept flowing in.  The servers were very attentive and seemed that they really cared and wanted you to be genuinely happy with your meal and dining experience.  I had the Spanish Omelet and they happily made it semi-healthy for me (half egg whites and half whole eggs) – it was great and had this thick and chunky authentic Spanish salsa piled on top and they gave me some to taste prior to my meal on the side.  Like I said, they really cared that I would enjoy my meal. My boyfriend got Stuffed Peach Pecan French Toast made with fresh Challah bread – he loved it…and this is coming from someone who always gets this at Maureen’s Kitchen (sorry Maureen’s you’re still great).

I recommended this place to my coworker, and she’s already been there twice.  I’ve yet to get back there myself, but she said that her and her other half got there on a Sunday around 12:30 and could see it was getting crowded.  I’m really hoping they do well.  So far I’m very impressed with both the food and service and the decor is clean and fun – they had a very large spoon on the wall I liked 🙂  Plan on going back there soon.  Oh, and here’s another link to a local paper with info on Javier’s Cafe and other local spots as well: http://www.etweekpub.com/featured_restaurants.cgi (scroll down for the review/info).

Enjoy!

Author: April

I love trying out different cuisines, and taking pictures of food just comes natural to me. Look for my reviews of local restaurants- you'll find an honest opinion about the food, service and ambience.

Leave a Reply

