Foodie by April

Local restaurant reviews by an food explorer & enthusiast!

Hotoke Japanese Steakhouse, Smithtown, NY

Leave a comment

Hotoke is a local Japanese Hibachi restaurant that I once thought was pretty decent, but I hadn’t been there in almost a year and a half. They kept sending us coupons periodically and I had one that was expiring by June 30th- so we went on the 30th. Their service and food was not impressive and we will not be back. My boyfriend said he was “underwhelmed” to say the least. Visit their site at http://www.hotokejapanese.com/

We started with two appetizers:  crab cake and vegetable tempura.  The crab cake was imitation crab!  There — I said it.  As soon as I tasted it, I knew it was fake crab meat.  The imitation style has that red color.  I’ve had better crab cakes frozen from COSTCO that are from Maryland.  The veggie tempura was good – it’s hard to screw that up.  They brought out our entrées right after the servers brought us the two appetizers – within a couple of minutes of us starting to eat the appetizers we were being rushed into our dinners!  And the place wasn’t busy; they weren’t even half full.  I even had to tell them flat-out they were rushing us – not impressed at all (:

Not sure I remember what I ate there when we were there last, but I’m thinking it was hibachi shrimp.  Had the shrimp Teriyaki there and it was super bland.  My boyfriend had the Sushi Dinner from the Sushi Bar entrée section of the dinner menu.  As I said from the start, he was comparing the sushi at Hotoke with another place that we went to six months ago that he loved, and Hotoke left him feeling very underwhelmed.

Like most Japanese restaurants of late, Hotoke likes to seem “trendy”.  I guess this means that they must play loud club music while eating your meal. We thought we were getting a break from this, but at some point during our recent visit they started blasting the dance music.  Don’t know about you, but I like more traditional Asian music during my dinner experience, or more soothing low-key music.  Loud club music doesn’t help me enjoy the meal, it gives me indigestion 🙂

We were glad to have not paid full price for our dinner.  That was the last time I would get sucked into going there with the lure of the coupon they send. Next time, the coupon goes right in the garbage, and we’ll head somewhere else.

Author: April

I love trying out different cuisines, and taking pictures of food just comes natural to me. Look for my reviews of local restaurants- you'll find an honest opinion about the food, service and ambience.

Leave a Reply

