Foodie by April

Local restaurant reviews by an food explorer & enthusiast!

Buona Sera Ristorante Pizza, Smithtown, NY

Leave a comment

Tortellini al Pesto

Tortellini al Pesto

Cavatelli Roselle

Cavatelli Roselle

Sometimes it’s nice to be able to enjoy a decent meal out and not break the bank 🙂  We felt like having Italian food this past Tuesday night, and since we like to keep it local (especially on a week night), Buona Sera is a great option for really good food that you can enjoy on a budget.  Both Monday and Tuesday nights are pasta night and they give you a lot of food at a price that’s very reasonable.  Check out their site at http://www.serveyourfamily.com/buonasera/ and click on the “Offers” tab for the pasta night menu.

The place isn’t a huge space, but not super tiny either; they have booths in the restaurant portion of the place and more casual small tables in the front for pizza.  It’s comfortable – just spacious enough without feeling cramped. Service is very good and friendly.  I had the Tortellini al Pesto entrée, and it was very good, but it was loaded with some serious cream sauce with a hint of pesto. I don’t think of this as a traditional pesto sauce – more of a variation on it.  Don’t get me wrong, it was tasty, but I think they assume most people want everything loaded up with cream and in this case less would have been more.  My boyfriend had the Cavatelli Roselle, which was also in a cream sauce, but not nearly as creamy as my dish.  His was loaded up with asparagus, sun-dried tomatoes, spinach and mushrooms.  I liked it, but my dish was far more decadent than his.

Our dinner came with dessert, and I wished I had just taken it in a doggy bag since I was so stuffed from my super-heavy tortellini dish. Instead, I ate about half of the chocolate cake.  It was good, but I really wanted their cheesecake, but after my dinner I thought I’d skip that.  The zeppolis that my boyfriend ordered were delicious!  Made me nostalgic for the Italian feast I went to when I was a kid about 30 years ago.

This is a good, reliable restaurant for decent food that you can enjoy and still have money left in your wallet.  Until next time….happy spring.

Author: April

I love trying out different cuisines, and taking pictures of food just comes natural to me. Look for my reviews of local restaurants- you'll find an honest opinion about the food, service and ambience.

Leave a Reply

